13th annual Victor Business Awards celebrates local business owners

VICTOR — Seventeen shining stars of local business were celebrated Thursday at the 13th annual Victor Business Awards, hosted by Victor Local Development Corporation.

The annual luncheon at Cobblestone Creek Country Club was held to “acknowledge Victor’s exceptional businesses and community supporters that are the backbone of the local economy,” said Victor Economic Development Director Kathy Rayburn.

A panel of local and state officials each took a turn at the podium to applaud the hard work of local business owners.

“I’m in awe of the collective talent in this room,” said Victor Mayor Gary Hadden, acknowledging the work and dedication each business owner has demonstrated. “I’m humbled by the opportunity to be here and share this day with you.”

New York State Assembly Minority Leader Brian Kolb, R-Canandaigua, credited Victor business owners for excelling in the face of obstacles.

“I’m an absolutely outspoken advocate for change, and the right change,” said Kolb, speaking of the many challenges that face small business owners across the state. “Thank you for making Victor vibrant and one of the fastest growing communities.”

State Senator Rich Funke, R-Perinton, said great local business doesn’t happen by accident — it takes hard work, dedication and skill.

Emphasizing the urgency for regulatory and tax reform, Funke said government isn’t responsible for creating jobs — it’s the private sector that creates them.

“This is our community, and you are a great reason to be proud,” said Funke to local business owners. “You could do business anywhere in the world. Thank you for choosing to do it in Victor.”

Ontario County Administrator Mary Krause underlined the county’s new vision statement to be “a vibrant community where every citizen has the opportunity to be healthy, safe and successful.”

She credited Victor business owners for living out the essence of that vision.

“Thank you for being a vibrant part of Ontario County,” said Krause.

Acting as master of ceremonies for the event was David Mammano, founder and CEO of Avanti Entrepreneur Group. Keynote speaker for the awards luncheon was Greater Rochester Chamber President Bob Duffy.

Victor Economic Development Director Kathy Rayburn said she’s amazed each year to hear the stories of the award recipients.

“This year I got to know them even more,” said Rayburn. “I tried to go out and visit them and make sure we had a connection before they came here.”

Often the business owners being honored are so hardworking, it’s not their first instinct to take time out of a workday for a luncheon, she said.

“Once they’re here, they’re kind of overwhelmed with the support in the room, and everybody here congratulating them,” said Rayburn.

“Once they get up to take pictures, they’re just thankful,” she said. “And I love that, because that’s what we’re trying to do. At least for a couple hours here, they can take a break, sit back and realize how important they are, and enjoy some applause.”


The honorees:

Business of the Year — O’Connell Electric Co.

Family Owned Business of the Year — Sweet Times Bakery

Health Service Provider of the Year — U.M.A.C. (United Martial Arts Center)

Developer of the Year — Woodstone Custom Homes, Inc.

Financial Services Champion of the Year — John Ryan of JTR & Associates of the Finger Lakes

Woman Business Owner of the Year — Rebecca Melton of Indoor Air Technologies, Inc.

Technology Business of the Year — Teknic, Inc.

Emerging Retailer of the Year — Motovate Performance

Business Exporter of the Year — LSI Solutions

Home-Based Business of the Year — American Sports Media

Business Journalist of the Year — Missy Rosenberry

Retail Marketing Champion of the Year — Kettle Ridge Farm

Youth Entrepreneur of the Year — Bodine Enterprise

Retail Merchant Retailer of the Year — Rite of Passage Tattoo, Inc.

Restaurant Retailer of the Year — Six-50- Black Oven Cooking

Service Provider Retailer of the Year — Mike Moreland’s Lawn & Landscaping, Inc.

Eastview Mall Retailer of the Year — American Eagle